By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Source: Eagles to join Sun Belt Conference



The Georgia Southern Eagles are moving to the Sun Belt Conference, a Football Bowl Subdivision conference, a source confirmed Monday.

            The university is expected hold an official announcement on Wednesday morning.

            No official timetable has been confirmed for Georgia Southern’s full membership in the Sun Belt, but the Eagles will play their announced football schedule in 2013. It has not been confirmed whether or not the Eagles will be eligible for a Southern Conference championship or a bid to the Football Championship Subdivision playoffs in 2013, or when the transition to FBS will begin.

            Currently, the Sun Belt is home to 10 programs.

            Arkansas-Little Rock is a non-football-playing member. Arkansas State, Louisiana-Lafayette, Louisiana-Monroe, South Alabama, Troy and Western Kentucky are current all-sports members. Georgia State and Texas State will begin all-sports memberships in the fall, and Texas Arlington will join as a non-football member in the fall.

            Florida Atlantic, Florida International, North Texas and Middle Tennessee State, all current Sun Belt members, are leaving the league in the fall to join Conference USA.

            Georgia Southern has been a member of the Southern Conference since 1992.


            Matt Yogus may be reached at (912) 489-9408.