By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Exchange marks 25 years in Statesboro
National Exchange Club president helps local club celebrate
exchange club
National Exchange Club 2018-19 President Scot Warren (right) presents a 25-year anniversary proclamation to Immediate Past President and Exchangite of the Year Christina Young. - photo by JULIE LAVENDER/staff

The national president of the Exchange Club came to Statesboro this week to wish the local chapter a happy 25th anniversary.

During the Exchange Club of Statesboro’s lunch meeting Tuesday at RJ’s Grill, Scot Warren, the club’s 2018-19 national president and member of the Exchange Club of Naperville in Illinois, was on hand to recognize the special occasion.

Also at the meeting was the founder of the Statesboro club, Pete Lancaster and his wife Loretta.

Pete Lancaster founded the Exchange Club of Statesboro on June 29, 1993 with 25 area business leaders.

“I’ve always been very proud of this club,” he said. “We had the first female Georgia District President from our club, and now we’re on our fourth.”

Also in attendance at the celebratory meeting were three charter members still on the roster: Tony Ross, Lisa Glisson and Richard Deal.

Club member Hazel Hendrix, who was recently inducted as the 2018-19 president of the Georgia District Exchange Club, became a member of the local club in December 1993, and Warren pointed out that she will celebrate her 25-year membership this year, too.

Warren installed the club’s new officers during the meeting. Board of Directors installed for the 2018-19 year include: Lisa Cox, Ashley Padgett, Tiffany Cavendar, Jean Ricketts, Jennifer Wynn and Jane Hagan.

Also installed at the meeting were Treasurer Christina Harrell, Secretary Shelley Stringer, Immediate Past President Christina Young, President-Elect Ginger Larrabee and President Rhonda Busby.

Christina Young received the Exchangite of the Year Award, and Shelley Stringer received the Volunteer of the Year Award.

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter