By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Statesboro's Tyson gets All-American nod
Placeholder Image
    NEW YORK — Deangelo Tyson, a 6-foot-2, 305-pound lineman from Statesboro High School, Omar Hunter, a 6-foot-1, 310-pound lineman from Buford High School in Buford and A.J. Harmon, a 6-foot-6, 335-pound lineman from Jefferson County High School in Louisville, have been named to PARADE’s 45th annual All-America High School Football Team.
    The athletes are among 58 players from 24 states to make the team, which will be listed in this Sunday’s issue.
    Founded in 1963, PARADE’s All-America High School Football Team has a legacy of recognizing outstanding athletes who have gone on to star on college and professional football fields.
    Thirteen PARADE All-Americans have won the Heisman Trophy: Tim Tebow, Reggie Bush, Matt Leinart, Eric Crouch, Chris Weinke, Ron Dayne, Herschel Walker, Charles Woodson, Rashaan Salaam, Marcus Allen, Billy Sims, Earl Campbell and Tony Dorsett.
    The 2007-2008 NFL boasts 156 PARADE All-Americans, including Peyton Manning, Vince Young and Adrian Peterson, to name just a few.  Other recognizable PARADE All-Americans include Emmitt Smith, Dan Marino, Joe Montana, John Elway, Donovan McNabb and Earl Campbell.
    Before vying for Super Bowl stardom this Sunday, the following Giants and Patriots players were named PARADE All-Americans. From New England: Kyle Brady, Kevin Faulk, Randy Moss and Junior Seau. From New York: Plaxico Burress, Michael Johnson and R.W. McQuarters.