By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
2007 Statesboro Herald All-Area Football Team
The 2007 Statesboro Herald All-Area Football team. Pictured standing left to right: Octavious Rawls (Portal), Zac Clark (Jenkins County), Nick Prescott (Portal), Jamalcolm Morgan (Claxton), Michael Davalos (Claxton), Tyler Nettles (Metter), Geoffrey Thurman (Metter), Darion Carter (Bulloch Academy), Ben Newton (Bulloch Academy) and Jordan Walker (Bulloch Academy). Pictured kneeling from left to right: Travis Coles (Screven County), Travis Sampson (Screven County) Donnie Mobley (Screven County), Weldon Watts (Statesboro), Sherrod Natson (Statesboro), Willie Shelton (Statesboro), Aaron Cone (Statesboro), Jordan Walker (Southeast Bulloch) and Kyle Greathouse (Southeast Bulloch). Not pictured: Tharon Davis and Tony Raymond (Southeast Bulloch).


Meet the 2007 Statesboro Herald All-Area football team.

To view this video please enable JavaScript, and consider upgrading to a web browser that supports HTML5 video

    The Statesboro Herald invites you to meet the 2007 All-Area football team, as selected by the Herald sports staff and area coaches.
    Out of our eight area schools — Bulloch Academy, Portal, Southeast Bulloch Statesboro, Claxton, Jenkins County, Metter and Screven County — we chose 22 of the top young men who represented their schools each and every Friday night.
    Eleven players were chosen from offense and 11 players were chosen from defense. Selections were made from coaches’ recommendations, statistical comparisons, Regional accolades and writers’ recognition of outstanding performance on and off the field.
    Of course, they’re wasn’t enough room for everyone. Some deserving athletes were left off  for the mere fact that there were only 22 spots available and each team must be represented on the roster.
    Here now is 2007 All-Area team, listed by team:

    Statesboro landed five members on the team, including Farmers and Merchants Bank Defensive Player of the Year, senior Deangelo Tyson.
    Tyson is considered on of the top defensive linemen in the country.
    Joining Tyson on defense are junior Willie Shelton, senior linebacker Weldon Watts and junior defensive back Aaron Cone. The four aforementioned Devils were on a defense that allowed 10 points a game.
    Tight end Sherrod Natson, a staple on the SHS offensive line, joins the team on offense.

Bulloch Academy
    Jordan Walker, senior quarterback at BA, was chosen as FMB Offensive Player of the Year. Walker, who compiled 28 total touchdowns, joins senior wide receiver Darion Carter on the team and senior lineman Ben Newton.

Southeast Bulloch
    The Yellow Jackets landed three on the squad.
    Athletic juniors Tharon Davis and Tony Raymond made the team while senior center Jordan Walker was added as well.

    Nick Prescott and senior Octavious Rawls made their way onto the team after a stellar 2007 campaign.
    Both Prescott and Rawls were team leaders this year for PHS.
    Running back Jamalcolm Morgan was chosen as the only sophomore to this year’s team. He joined senior lineman Michael Davalos. Morgan rushed for over 1,000 yards and Davalos led the way up front.
Screven County
    For the second straight season, junior Travis Coles rushed for over 1,000 yards for the Gamecocks.
    He joins teammates Donnie Mobley (junior defensive lineman) and Travis Sampson (junior defensive back) from a Gamecock squad that finished 7-4.

    Junior wide receiver Geoffrey Thurmond and junior lineman Tyler Nettles represent the Tigers.
    Thurman led MHS in receiving while Nettles provided protection in the Tigers’ pass-happy offense.

Jenkins County
    Senior and team captain Zac Clark is the lone representative from Millen.
    Clark helped lead the Eagles to one of their better seasons in recent memory and lay the foundation for the future of Eagle football.