By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Te'o takes 2012 Maxwell Award
Notre Dame LB first defensive player to win award since 1980
College Football Awar Heal
Notre Dame's Manti Te'o talks with reporters as he arrives at the Home Depot College Football Awards in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., on Thursday. - photo by Associated Press

Nation's top players honored
Walter Camp National Player of the Year 
Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Maxwell Award (best all-around player)
Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Doak Walker Award (outstanding running back)
Montee Ball, Wisconsin
Fred Biletnikoff Award (outstanding receiver)
Marqise Lee, Southern Cal
Chuck Bedarnik Trophy (best defensive player)
Manti Te'o, Notre Dame
Outland Trophy (outstanding collegiate interior lineman)
Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M
Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)
Johnthan Banks, Mississippi State
Lou Groza Award (outstanding place-kicker)
Cairo Santos, Tulane
Ray Guy Award (best punter)
Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech
Sports Spirit Award
Nate Boyer, Texas
Coach of the Year
Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
NCFAA Contribution to College Football Award
Ara Parseghian

    LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla. — Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o has won the Maxwell Award, given to the nation's most outstanding player.
    Te'o was presented with the award Thursday at the Home Depot College Football Awards show at Disney World. He beat out finalists and quarterbacks Johnny Manziel from Texas A&M and Collin Klein from Kansas State.
    He is the first defensive player to win the award since 1980, ending a string of nine straight quarterbacks.
    It's the sixth national award that Te'o has won since the end of the regular season. The Fighting Irish senior has also has won the Bednarik Award, Butkus Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Lombardi Award and Walter Camp national player of the year award.
    Te'o is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented on Saturday.

Kelly named Coach of the Year
    Brian Kelly of Notre Dame has won coach of the year at the Home Depot College Football Awards show at Disney World.
    Kelly becomes the first two-time winner, having previously received the honor in 2009 while he was at Cincinnati.
    Kelly led the 12-0 Fighting Irish to the school's first undefeated regular season since 1988 and only the second overall. Kelly also joins Lou Holtz as the only Notre Dame coaches to post winning seasons in each of their first three seasons at the school.
    Notre Dame will take on Alabama in the BCS national championship game on Jan. 7.

Ball named top running back
    Wisconsin's Montee Ball has won the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation's outstanding running back.
    The senior beat out fellow finalists Kenjon Barner from Oregon and UCLA's Johnathan Franklin.
    Ball rushed for 21 touchdowns and 1,730 yards this season to lead an offense that ranked 12th in the nation in rushing yards per game with 237.8.
    He helped propel the Badgers to a 70-31 win over Nebraska in the Big Ten title game, earning a Rose Bowl berth.
    Wisconsin will be the first five-loss team to play in the Rose Bowl.