By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Explosive Griffin wins Class AAAA state title
Class AAAA Championsh Heal WEB
Griffin quarterback Jaquez Parks (11) attempts a pass intended for running back Randall Hunt (12) in the first half of the GHSA Class AAAA championship high school football game against Carrollton at the Georgia Dome in Atlanta on Saturday. - photo by Associated Press
ATLANTA — Jaquez Parks passed for four touchdowns and ran 73 yards for another score, amassing 554 total yards, to lead Griffin to a 56-35 victory over Carrollton for the Class AAAA state championship Saturday night at the Georgia Dome. Trey Willis caught three touchdown passes and also had a 98-yard kickoff return for a score as Griffin (15-0) won its first title in 35 years in its first trip to the championship game since 1980. The Bears' 1978 title had been their lone title since 1942.