By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Five Eagles named All-Southern Conference
Foster, Taylor and Mohring selected to first team
Placeholder Image
    Five Georgia Southern football players earned All-Southern Conference honors, as announced by the league office Wednesday. The league’s head coaches voted three Eagles to the First Team and another two Second Team.
    Junior Jayson Foster (Canton/Cherokee County) was named First Team wide receiver and Second Team return specialist.
    Senior defensive lineman Charrod Taylor (Miami, FL/Clarke Central, Ga.) and senior linebacker John Mohring (Naples, FL/Bishop Verot) joined Foster on the First Team. Senior center Lance Wayne (Lake Worth, FL/Wellington) and sophomore defensive back Brandon Jackson (Ft. Lauderdale, FL/Plantation) earned Second Team honors.
    Mohring finishes his career as a three-time All-SoCon honoree as he repeated as a First Team selection. Taylor earned Second Team accolades last year.
    Mohring was part of the Buck Buchanan Award ‘Watch List’ for national Defensive Player of the Year until the final ballot.
    He led the Eagle defense, and ranked third in the league, averaging 9.3 tackles per game. The senior outside linebacker was second in the SoCon with 14.0 tackles for a loss, and he intercepted two passes. During his four-year career Mohring finished with 302 tackles, fifth among the GS all-time leaders.
    Taylor ended the season with a career-high nine tackles against Central Arkansas, finishing second overall with 48 tackles.
    He also recorded 6.5 tackles for a loss, four quarterback hurries and two sacks.
    Foster led the Eagles, and ranked fourth in the SoCon, averaging 117 all-purpose yards per game.
    He caught a team-leading 33 passes (fourth-most in a season), accumulating 368 yards and three touchdowns. On the ground he rushed for 346 yards and five scores, in addition Foster averaged 10.4 yards per punt return and a league-leading 26.9 yards per kickoff. For the second straight year he led the team in scoring touchdowns.
    This season Foster set a GS single-game record with an 85-yard touchdown reception (at The Citadel), and tied a career record when he returned a punt 78 yards for his second-ever punt return TD (versus Central Arkansas).
    Wayne ends his stellar career as a four-year letterman who never missed a start (46 contests). He helped the Eagles win three straight national rushing titles and led the offensive linemen all four years in knockdown blocks.
    Jackson tied for the league lead registering five interceptions. During his first year in the program, the sophomore cornerback recorded 35 tackles and a team-leading four pass break-ups.
    Also announced by the league office on Wednesday, the SoCon Sports Media Association announced its all-conference picks. Foster was a First Team return specialist in addition to Taylor and Mohring repeating as First Team selections. Jackson was chosen Second Team.