By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Sun Belt delays expansion to 12 teams
NEW ORLEANS — The Sun Belt Conference is putting plans to expand to 12 teams on hold, probably until after the 2014 football season, league Commissioner Karl Benson said. Speaking after Wednesday's conclusion of conference meetings in Destin, Fla., Benson said Sun Belt members are comfortable with having 11 teams in 2014, and do not want to rush to add another school simply so the conference can hold a championship game for football. "We believe that even though we may have to wait an extra year, that we need to get it right," Benson said.