By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Top award winners named at OTC
Sheryl Rogers named Instructor of the Year
093009 OTC AWARDS 01 web
Ogeechee Technical College accounting instructor Sheryl Rogers, right, laughs as president Dawn Cartee teases her after being named Instructor of the Year during a ceremony Wednesday.
    Ogeechee Technical College honored three faculty and staff members Wednesday with an awards reception in the Joe Kennedy Building lobby.
    For the first time ever, the OTC Awards Committee handed out the Leadership Award, as well as the traditional Support Staff and Instructor of the Year awards, said Dr. Ben Thompson, Vice President of Economical Development, who opened the ceremony.
    "It is extremely difficult for us to figure out (the category winners)," he said. When the committee was reviewing nominees," each  time a name came up, people said 'They do a terrific job.'"
    Connie Hendrix, former recipient, announced the 2009-2010 OTC Support Staff award winner: Tracy Morris. The award goes to persons who " outstanding employees who have made significant contributions ..." she said.
    Morris appeared overwhelmed. " Wow. I really don't have anything to say but thanks!' Morris is database administrator for  the college.
    OTC Foundation member Beth Mathews announced the OTC Leadership Award winner, Teresa Allen, who is the college's Dean for Health Education.
    "Thank you," Allen said. " I really appreciate it. I only believe a leader is as good as those you lead."
    Instructor Matthew Gainous, recipient of last year's OTC Instructor of the Year, called forth nominees for this year's award. After explaining the award is issued to those showing exemplary performance in the classroom, through outside activities and showing dedication, he added that all nominees " are exceptional instructors who have a true passion ... I am  proud  to call these people my colleagues."
    Then, OTC President Dawn Cartee announced accounting instructor Sheryl Rogers as this year's recipient.
    Rogers said " I just thank (the committees) and most of all want to thank Dr. Cartee, a lady who knows what to do and knows what it takes to keep these doors open." Later, Rogers spoke about her love for teaching, especially when students catch on to what she is trying to teach them. " I also love accounting," she said.
    "The winners you see here today are extremely deserving," Cartee said. She also praised the OTC Foundation for its support. "Without the Foundation's support, this reception today would not be possible."
    Refreshments and punch was served prior to an after the ceremony. each nominee was given a gift bag, and award recipients also received checks for $500 each.

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter