By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Polls open Tuesday 7 a.m.–7 p.m. in runoffs
In Bulloch, just 7.3 percent voted early or absentee
Vote 2018

More than 2,900 Bulloch County residents already have voted in the statewide runoffs for Georgia secretary of state and a Public Service Commission seat. For all other registered voters, precinct voting places around the county will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Tuesday.

Last week during the five days of in-person early voting, 2,608 voters cast ballots in Bulloch County. In addition, 321 paper absentee ballots were returned out of the 735 mailed from the local election office, said Elections Supervisor Patricia Lanier Jones.

So that's 2,929 apparently completed ballots so far, 7.3 percent of the county's 39,983 registered voters.

This election features the runoff between Republican nominee Brad Raffensperger and Democratic nominee John Barrow for secretary of state.

Barrow, an attorney, represented Georgia's 12th Congressional District, which includes Statesboro, in the U.S. House of Representatives for 10 years.

Raffensperger, a structural engineer, contractor and business owner, has represented Johns Creek in north Fulton County in the Georgia House of Representatives the past four years.

The Public Service Commission features Republican incumbent Chuck Eaton and Democratic challenger Lindy Miller. Eaton was first elected to the PSC in December 2006 and was previously its chairman. Miller is a first-time candidate and co-founded a renewable energy company.

Election Day voters are expected to cast their ballots at assigned traditional precincts. Absentee ballots that were previously mailed to voters can be returned, but no voting will take place at the election headquarters in the county annex Tuesday, Jones reminded voters. It was the early voting location only.

Under a statewide extension, absentee ballots returned by Friday, Dec. 7, will be counted.

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter