By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Herald named best small daily in Georgia
Scott Bryant

Herald Ad Dept. earns 24 awards
      The Statesboro Herald advertising department won 13 first-place awards and 11 second-place awards at the recent Georgia Press Association's Advertising and Marketing Conference.

Online Banner Ad
       First Place - Splash in the Boro
Small Page Ad
       First Place - Statesboro Imaging Center
Spot Color Ad
       First Place - Serenity Day Spa and Salon
Special Section
       First Place - 20 under 40
Advertising Campaign
       First Place - Ken's IGA
Apparel, Jewelry and Accessories
       First Place - Bellies and Babies
Non-Traditional Advertising\
       First Place - SOCIAL
Newspaper Promotion Out of Print
       First Place - Get Blitzed Connect Coozies
       Second Place - Statesboro Travel Cup
Signature Page
       First Place - The 3/50 Project
       Second Place - Fall's Fashions Must-Haves
Miscellaneous Ad
       Second Place - HomeRite Windows and Doors
Full-Color Ad
       Second Place -- Tillman and Deal Ag Services
Food Ad
       First Place - Emma's Restaurant and Lounge
       Second Place - Ellis Farm Fresh Meats
Health Care Ad
       First Place - East Georgia Women's Center
       Second Place - South Georgia Immediate Care Center
Home Furnishings and Appliances
       Second Place - LA Waters
Newspaper Promotion
       Second Place -
       First Place - Beaver Creek Plantation
       Second Place - Pineland Telephone Cooperative
Classified Section/Page
       Second Place - Statesboro Herald Classified Action Ads
Real Estate
       First Place - Remax Preferred Realty
       Second Place - Landmark Realty
      The Statesboro Herald team members involved in the ad campaigns and the production of the ads include:
      Ad Design Team: Diane Galloway, Lamar Allen, Lindsey Delettre, Stephanie Gibson, Andrew Guernsey and Tim Webb.
      Sales Team: Kelly Dailey, Cicely Sikes, Reagan Daly, Shelby Morris, Courtney Caldwell, Robin Bradford, Lisa Loy, Pam Pollard and Debbie Deal.

      For the second consecutive year, the Statesboro Herald was named the best small daily newspaper in Georgia during the Georgia Press Association's annual awards banquet Friday in Jekyll Island.
      The Herald earned a first place in the General Excellence category of the 2011 Better Newspaper Contest in Division D for papers with 8,000 and under circulation. The annual contest is run by the Georgia Press Association, which represents 34 daily and 120 weekly newspapers in the state. The Herald also won first place in General Excellence in 2004, 2006 and 2010.
      The Herald earned 22 awards in the contest, including six first place,11 second place and five third place honors for work that was published in 2010. The paper, which is owned by Savannah-based Morris Multimedia, captured more awards than any other of the 12 papers in Division D.
      "To be recognized as the best is a testament to the hard work of the entire staff," said Randy Morton, publisher of the Herald. "I congratulate our staff for putting together such a quality product for our readers."
      The Herald website - - was named the second best best in the state, competing with all the newspaper websites in Georgia.
      Photographer Scott Bryant won nine awards, including three first places. His photo of a coach giving some pointers to a T-ball player in a dramatic shadow earned first in the Sports Feature category. His series of photos from a basket-making demonstration at the Averitt Center earned first for Best Photo Essay and his photo slideshow look back at 2010 won first place in the Best Photo Gallery on a Newspaper Web site category.
      He also earned second place in the following categories: Photo Essay, Feature Photo, Sports Photo and Spot News. He won third place in the following: News Photo and Best Photo Gallery on a Newspaper Web site.
      Reporter Holli Deal Bragg earned a first place in the Feature Writing category for a series of three stories, including one about local farmer Lannie Lee. Bragg also was awarded a second place in Education Writing.
      Sports editor Matt Yogus earned a second place in Sports Column Writing, while Mike Anthony won second place in the Sports Writing category.
      Business editor Jan Moore earned a second place in Business Reporting, while executive editor James Healy won a third place for Education Coverage..
      In awards given to the newspaper as a whole, the Herald earned the following:
First place
      General Excellence
      Page One - For a selection of pages designed by James Healy and Katherine Kennedy.
Second place
      Lifestyles Section - For sections edited by James Healy and Katherine Kennedy.
      Special Sections - For the Pride sections generated by the entire staff
      Website - Judged among every newspaper website in the state
Third place
      Editorial Writing - For editorials written about the city of Statesboro regarding the city manager, the firing of the police and fire chiefs and a proposal to pay for a water line to First Baptist Church.

      Headline Writing
      Other Morris Multimedia newspapers also were recognized for their work in 2010. The Times in Gainesville won first place General Excellence and 21 total awards in Division B for papers of circulation between 15,000 and 40,000. In Division C for papers of circulation between 8,000 and 15,000, the Forsyth County News won first place General Excellence and 18 total awards..

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter