By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Qualifying ends with few races
Qualifying for local offices ended earlier Friday with only the Sheriff's race drawing enough interest for a contested primary on July 31. Incumbent county commissioners Edwin Mosley, Carolyn Etheridge and Roy Thompson, along with Commission Chairman Garrett Nevil will run unopposed. Also drawing no opposition for re-election are Lee DeLoach, probate judge; June Braswell, magistrate court judge; Gary Mikell, state court judge; Jake Futch, coroner; Joey Cowart, solicitor general; John Dotson, surveyor; and James Deal, tax commissioner.
Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter