By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Grube signals new GSU academic year at fall 2008 Convocation
Georgia Southern University president Bruce Grube addresses faculty and staff during the 2008 Fall Convocation held Wednesday at the Performing Arts Center. - photo by Special
    With Georgia Southern set to welcome more than 17,000 students on the first day of fall classes Monday, university President Bruce Grube called the past 10 years one of the most active decades in the college’s more than 100-year history.
    Grube spoke Wednesday to faculty and staff during the fall 2008 Convocation, signaling the beginning of the new academic year. The university officially welcomed 60 new faculty members and expects its largest student body in the history of the institution. Final enrollment numbers will be made available in late October.
    "During the last 10 years Georgia Southern University has undergone the greatest growth in physical facilities in its history and in the quality of academic programs,” Grube said. “As we turn our focus to the university’s second century, you can feel the excitement on campus, the state and the region. With increased interest from across the country and around the world, we are entering a true era of achievement at Georgia Southern University.”
    According to Grube, Georgia Southern’s growth is tied to a number of different things including the university’s recognition as a Carnegie/Doctoral Research University, its continued focus on its students, an expanding number of innovative programs and a faculty that are not only outstanding teachers, but professionals in their field.  

Faculty awards
    During the 2008 Convocation ceremonies, the university recognized a select group of faculty for their excellence in service, contribution to instruction and research/creative scholarly activity.  

2008-2009 Faculty Award for Excellence in Service
Dr. Susie M. Lanier, Department of Mathematical Sciences
Dr. Lissa M. Leege, Department of Biology
2008-2009 Faculty Award for Excellence in Contributions to Instruction
Dr. Godfrey A. Gibbison, School of Economic Development
Dr. Sharon E. Taylor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
2008-2009 Faculty Award for Excellence in Research/Creative Scholarly Activity
Dr. Lance A. Durden, Department of Biology
Dr. Karl E. Peace, Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health
Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter