By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bulloch History with Roger Allen - Fido, Fish Trap fade quickly
roger allen colorWeb
Roger Allen

    Note: The following is the 14th in a series of columns that will describe towns and communities, past and present, that were settled after Bulloch County was first settled. Some have since been cut into other counties.

    The little town curiously called Fido was located a few hundred yards from the Canoochee River, just north of Moore's Bridge along the Seaboard Air Line Railroad.
    The post office there opened in J.G. Moore’s store and was named after Mrs. James G. Williams’ feisty dog, Fido. Moore was both a store owner and the town's only postmaster. It closed in 1899, to be replaced by the Euphaupee post office.
    Fish Trap, however, came into being on Dec. 12, 1889, when a deed was recorded in the Bulloch County Courthouse that stated Bedford Everett and Deacon Howard Kirkland of the Mount Pisgah Primitive Baptist Church had negotiated the sale of two acres for $4 between Everett’s land and the mouth of the Great Lott’s Creek.
    Everett immediately built an Indian-style fish trap in which he caught fish that he sold to area residents. The church here shortly became known thereafter as Fish Trap, as did the bridge, the school and the road.
    Believe it or not, there was even a town in Bulloch County that was named Fly. Located halfway between the villages of Clito and Laston, all that is known about Fly is that according to the book written by Small, its post office moved several times. Its final resting place was across the road from Richard Burns' house. The residents wanted to name the town Troy, but that name was summarily rejected by the postmaster-general. The postmasters were Martin A. Woodcock and Madison P. Marsh.
    The community of Gem was located halfway between the towns of Clark and Zoar. All that is known about Gem is that according to the book written by Small, the post office was open from 1888–1904, and its postmasters included Henry C. Carr, David B. Rigdon and William F. Womack.
    Likewise, little is known about the settlement named Geranium, except that it was located southwest of Nevils and was lost to Evans County when it was created.
           
    Roger Allen is a local lover of history. He provides a brief look at the area's historical past. Email Roger at rwasr1953@gmail.com.

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter