By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Brooklet, Portal and Register election results
Placeholder Image
    Two vacated seats on the Brooklet City Council were filled Tuesday, and the incumbent was ousted from the  third seat up for election.
    Jim Stanoff ran away with Brooklet City Council seat #3, vacated by former council member Sylvia Prosser, who did not run again. Stanoff was opposed by Joni Ehert, who garnered 51 votes to Stanoff's 106.
    "I'd like to see Brooklet grow as people in Brooklet desire," Stanoff said Wednesday. "I'm going to maintain an honest, straightforward look at the people and the community."
    Council seat #4, vacated when Annette Wilson declined to run again, was filled by Rusty Smith, who ran unopposed.
    Smith said he hopes Brooklet continues to prosper and keep the "small town feel we have. This good small town atmosphere is the reason we came here." Smith said he intends to work for the city of Brooklet and represent all citizens. "Some feel like they weren't being represented," he said. "I want to make a difference. I'll be here in the long run."
    James Orr eased past incumbent William R. Hendrix to take Brooklet City Council seat #5 with a vote of 91 over Hendrix's 72. Orr was not immediately available for comment Wednesday.

Portal Town elections
    Three candidates vied to fill Portal Town Council Post # 1, vacated by the death of former councilman Walton Newton. Billy Boggs won the race with 57 votes over 34 votes for Ralph C. Garner and 11 votes for Reggie D. Hodges. Boggs did not return messages left seeking comment Wednesday.
    Incumbent Jerry A. Lanigan kept her position on Portal Town Council Post #3, taking 76 votes over challenger Gwenn Motes' 30 votes.
    Lanigan hopes during her next  term she sees the first and second phases of the city's sewer system completed and " more improvement for the citizens," she said. "I want to look at growth, and hopefully we can get a housing development and more businesses."
    Mira L. Barrett, incumbent for Portal Town Council Post #4, kept his seat with 91 votes, and was unchallenged. Barrett did not immediately return phone calls Wednesday seeking comment.
Register Town elections
    Several vacated seats, including that of mayor, were filled Tuesday when no race  was challenged in the Register elections.
    Former Mayor Katie O'Grady did not choose to run for office again. O'Grady was mayor pro tem in 2007 when long-time mayor James Oates, who had sat out several terms before running against and edging out candidate Lisa Rushing Ryles, resigned from office.
    Oates ran unopposed this year for the office of mayor.
    Other Register council seats were filled as follows: Post 1 - John Williams; Post 2 - Donald O. Kiltz; Post 3 - Kevin Boyd; Post 4 - Donnie Roberts: Post 5 - Ann Russ.
    A spokesperson at the Register Town Hall Wednesday could not provide information on the council seats' former occupants or reasons the seats had been vacated. None of Register's races this year were contested.
     Holli Deal Bragg may be reached at 489-9414.

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter