By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Bob Marsh named 2023 Kiwanian of the Year
Kiwanis 2024
2009 Kiwanian of the Year Horace Harrell, left, congratulates Robert Marsh on being named the 2023 Kiwanian of the Year at the Statesboro Kiwanis Club 64th Anniversary and Awards Party on Thursday. - photo by SCOTT BRYANT/staff

A long-time member of the Kiwanis Club of Statesboro, local veteran Bob Marsh was named the 2023 Kiwanian of the Year at the club’s 64th Anniversary and Awards Party on Thursday.

The event was held in the community room at the Kiwanis Fairgrounds on Fair Road.

Kiwanis 2024
Leslie Pease, left, and Emily Grooms give a teary-eyed tribute to parents Walter and Deb Pease who were inducted into the Wall of Honor during the Statesboro Kiwanis Club 64th Anniversary and Awards Party on Thursday, Feb. 22. - photo by SCOTT BRYANT/staff

Marsh is currently chairman for American Legion Post 90's annual Memorial Day and Veterans Day events. He was surprised and humbled when his name was called as Kiwanian of the Year.

Kiwanis 2024
Jan Whaley, left, expresses how much her late husband, Don Whaley, loved the Kiwanis as he is inducted into the Wall of Honor. - photo by SCOTT BRYANT/staff

Also, the Kiwanis Club inducted five members posthumously into its Wall of Honor – the first inductees in more than 10 years. Those honored were Walter and Deb Pease, Don Whaley, Bill Cheshire and J.W. "Major" Roberts.

Kiwanis 2024
Pam Hicks, daughter of Wall of Honor inductee Bill Cheshire, show a photograph of her father with some of his favorite things, including his signature yellow Kiwanis jacket. - photo by SCOTT BRYANT/staff

2024 Kiwanis Club Awards, Honorees

Perfect Attendance (Presented by Matt Anderson)

12 months of attending all regular club meetings or making up any missed regular meetings with attendance at a Board meeting, club committee meeting, International/District/Division conference, or interclub.

• 1 year: Hilda Dutrow, Glynn Ellis, Kasey Hagan, Tom McKeithen

• 2 years: Jill Boykin, Byron Mullican, Bobby Turner

• 3 years: Franklin Beacham, Chris Wiggins

• 4 years: Jim Thibodeau

• 5 years: John Banter, Dan Hagan

• 6 years: Bill Anderson

• 7 years: Lynn Bennett, Earl Cashon

• 8 years: JD Dunn

• 11 years: Vince Galasso, Bede Mitchell

• 12 years: Trish Tootle

• 15 years: Mike Rushing

• 41 years: Horace Harrell

Ruby K Award 

(Presented by Kasey Hagan)

Sponsoring five or more new club members over the course of one’s Kiwanis career. Pins are presented for every 5 new members.

• Chris Wiggins (5)

• Jim Thibodeau (5)

Outstanding Kiwanians (Presented by Lt. Governor Trish Tootle)

Perfect attendance for at least six months, sponsored a new club member during fiscal year, actively participated on a club committee, attended at least two interclubs during fiscal year, maintained good standing with club, Division, District, and International.

• Dan Hagan

• Mike Rushing

• Trish Tootle

• Chris Wiggins

Hixson Fellowship (Presented by Chris Wiggins)

In 1983, the Kiwanis Children’s Fund established the George F. Hixson Fellowship. Named for Kiwanis International’s first president, Hixson Fellowships are awarded to donors who give $1,000 or more to the Children’s Fund. It recognizes people who have contributed significantly to Kiwanis’ history of generosity.

• Mike Rushing

Legion of Honor Awards (Presented by Matt Anderson)

First presented after 25 years of Kiwanis service, and after every 5 years of service thereafter.

• Jim Campbell, 45

• Horace Harrell, 45

• Mike Bowen, 30

• David Beaubien, 25

Wall of Honor (Presented by Matt Anderson)

• J.W. “Major” Roberts

• Bill Cheshire

• Don Whaley

• Walter Pease

• Deb Pease

Kiwanis 2024
Lin Roberts, left, shows off the suspenders that his father, J.W. "Major" Roberts, was known for as the families for inductees to the Wall of Honor share memories during the Statesboro Kiwanis Club 64th Anniversary and Awards Party on Thursday, Feb. 22. - photo by SCOTT BRYANT/staff

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter