By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Amanda Miller named OTC 2009 GOAL winner
GOAL student for Web
Ogeechee Technical College President Dawn Cartee (right) and Amanda Miller, the 2009 GOAL winner are seen above. - photo by Special
  Amanda Miller was announced as Ogeechee Technical College 2009 GOAL winner for at a luncheon held Thursday.
    GOAL stands for Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership and each of the state’s 33 technical college given one student the awards annually. The 33 winners will then go on to compete to be the statewide GOAL winner, who wins a new car.
    Miller, a radiologic technology student, said she was surprised to chosen for such an honor.
    “It kind of caught me off guard,” Miller said. “I had some really stiff competition so I was completely unprepared for this.”
    Miller plans to graduate from the program in the summer of 2010, and then look for employment locally. She hopes to carry her feelings for OTC into her responsibilities as the GOAL winner.
    “I love being a student here at OTC,” Miller said. “They have helped me tremendously. I’m just hoping I can be the best ambassador for this school that I can be.”
    Jan Martin, the clinical coordinator for imaging services and the instructor that nominated Miller, has had GOAL winners from her program four years running, including last year’s state GOAL winner, Molly Bickerton. She said the competitive admission process for radiologic technology already brings out the best in students.
    “They’ve already competed for one of 12 or 14 spots in the program, so competition is almost foremost in their minds,” Martin said.
    The three other finalists were Beth Ciesco and Jenna Mothrop, both Radiologic Technology students, and Richard Stephens, a Networking Specialist student.
    Also nominated for the GOAL award were Rebecca Adair, Pharmacy Technology; Audra Aldridge, Medical Assisting; Rebecca Brown, Diagnostic Medical Sonography; Cheyenne Dorsey, Radiologic Technology;  Nancy Griswold, Radiologic Technology; Kristin Smith, Dental Assisting; Sarah Stone, Radiologic Technology; and Kyle Thrift, Funeral Service Education.
Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter