By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
4 more candidates qualify Thursday for Bulloch County offices
Qualifying ends Friday at noon

Four candidates qualified Thursday for Bulloch County offices up for election in the May 24 general primary. Qualifying continues 9 a.m. until noon Friday in the Board of Elections area at the Bulloch County Annex, 113 N. Main St.

The candidates qualifying Thursday were Lonnie Ellis and Kevin Wadley for Bulloch County probate judge, H. Lee Jones for the Bulloch County Board of Education District 1 and Stuart Tedders for the Board of Education District 3, for which incumbent Dr. LeVon Wilson has announced he will not seek re-election.

The following are the official candidates who qualified as of Thursday, as reported by Bulloch County Elections Supervisor Patricia Lanier Jones:

State court judge - Gary Mikell (incumbent)

Magistrate judge - June Braswell (incumbent)

Solicitor general - Joseph Cushner

Sheriff - Jared Akins and Noel Brown

County Commission chairman - Roy Thompson

County Commission 1A - Ray Mosley (incumbent) and Hayward Fields

County Commission 2A - Jimmy Hayes, Curt Deal and Gerald Fleming

County Commission 2C - Jappy Stringer and Gail Dismuke

Surveyor - John Dotson (incumbent)

Tax commissioner - James Deal (incumbent)

Clerk of courts - Heather McNeal (incumbent)

Probate judge - Lorna DeLoach, Marty Waters, Charlie Aaron, Kevin Wadley and Lonnie Ellis

Coroner - Jake Futch (incumbent)

Board of Education District 1 - Shalah Hendrix, H. Lee Jones and Cheri Wagner (incumbent)

Board of Education District 3 - Stuart Tedders

Board of Education District 7 - Heather Mims and Josh Mattos

Board of Education District 8 - Maurice Hill (incumbent)



Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter