By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
A night with local stars
W 051812 EMMAS 02
Emma Award nominees Macy Pruitt, black dress, and Abbey McMillan, green dress, pose for cameras on the red carpet at the Averitt Center for the Arts on Friday. The two were nominated for their shared role as Annie in the musical "Annie" and won the Critics Choice award for Best Female Vocalist.
The Averitt Center celebrated its local stars at the first Emma Awards on Friday night. Cast members of the 2011-2012 Averitt STARs Community Theater productions were nominated for the awards in five categories. The winners are as follows: - Best Director: Helen & Glenn, "Annie" (People's Choice); Mical Whitaker, "The Glass Menagerie" (Critics' Choice) - Best Actor: Lee Walker, "Annie" (People's Choice); Scott Marchbanks, "Hairspray" (Critics' Choice) - Best Actress: Merry Gallagher, "Blithe Spirit" (People's Choice); Carol Thompson, "The Glass Menagerie" (Critics' Choice) - Best Supporting Actor: Russ Lanier, "Annie" (People's Choice); Jacob Furse, "Hairspray" (Critics' Choice) - Best Supporting Actress: Sydney Davis, "Hairspray" (People's Choice); Susan Jackson, "Blithe Spirit" (Critics' Choice) - Best Male Vocalist: Brian Strickland, "Hairspray" (People's Choice and Critics' Choice) - Best Female Vocalist: tie, Sarah Hancock, "The Statesboro Christmas Spectacular," and Lula Brown, "Hairspray" (People's Choice); Abbey McMillan and Macy Pruit, "Annie" (Critics' Choice) - Best Costume: Scott Marchbanks, "Hairspray" (People's Choice); Brenda Dartt, "Blithe Spirit" (Critics' Choice) - Best Show: "Annie" (People's Choice); "Hairspray" (Critics' Choice) A pre-performance reception was held for all ticketed attendees, and nominees were chauffeured to the Emma Kelly Theater where they were greeted with a red carpet welcome.
Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter