By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Rotary Club of Statesboro awards scholarships to local students
Rotary scholarship recipients, left to right, are Samantha Yancey, Hannah Clay, Katherine Yaughn, Anna Jones, Alayna Smith, Matthew Perry, Ansley Knight, Brittany Lane and Taylor Cline, with Rotary scholarship chairman Steve Healy. Not pictured was Kathryn Lattner and Hannah Parsons.

The Rotary Club of Statesboro awarded 11 $1,000 Service Above Self scholarships this year to graduating seniors in Bulloch County. These scholarships awarded outstanding academics as well as community service. 

Five scholarships were awarded from the club and two anonymous Rotary club donors funded the other six. These recipients were recognized at Rotary’s noon meeting on June 7.  

The 2021 recipients, their high schools, and their college decisions are: Samantha Yancey, Southeast Bulloch, (Emmanuel College); Hannah Clay, Southeast Bulloch (Georgia Tech); Katherine Yaughn, homeschool (Mercer University); Anna Jones, homeschool (Georgia Southern University); Alayna Smith, Portal High (Southeastern Technical College); Matthew Perry, Statesboro High (Georgia Tech); Ansley Knight, Southeast Bulloch (University of Georgia); Brittany Lane, Statesboro High (University of Georgia); Taylor Cline, Portal High (Georgia Southern University);  Kathryn Lattner, Trinity Christian (University of Georgia); and Hannah Parsons, Southeast Bulloch (University of South Florida).

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter