By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
2014 Deen Day Smith Service to Mankind Awards
W DEEN DAY 040114 592
Deen Day Smith Service to Mankind Awards honoree Mike Rollins casts a shadow as he is introduced at Tuesday's banquet.

    The 26th Annual Deen Day Smith Service to Mankind Awards, like the 25 before them, spotlighted Bulloch County residents who do many things for other people simply because that's what they want to do.
    Chad Wiggins, the Statesboro Herald Humanitarian of the Year, has, among many other things, spent Sunday afternoons for the past five years volunteering to supervise sports events for at-risk youth.
    The Lifetime Achievement Award winners — Edith Hutchison, Nan Rushing, Nancy Stubbs Waters, Charles Sikes and Lannie Denmark Lee Sr. — have similarly impressive lists of acts of kindness.
    They don't do what they do for this recognition. But the Statesboro Herald and the awards' namesake, Deen Day Smith, feel it's important that such noble acts by good people do get recognized.

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter