By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Georgia Tech's Dedrick Mills named to preseason All-ACC football team
Mills WEB
Dedrick Mills
GREENSBORO, N.C.  – Defending national champion Clemson leads all schools with five selections to the 2017 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Preseason Football Team announced on Wednesday.
The team was selected by a vote of 167 media members that were credentialed for last week’s ACC Football Kickoff in Charlotte.
The Tigers’ defensive tackle tandem of Christian Wilkins and Dexter Lawrence were both selected, along with the Clemson offensive trio of wide receiver Deon Cain, tackle Mitch Hyatt and guard Tyrone Crowder.
Miami, which was predicted to place first in the Coastal Division in the media preseason poll announced earlier this week, placed four players on the All-ACC preseason team. Preseason ACC favorite Florida State, defending Coastal Division champion Virginia Tech and NC State each had three players selected.
Eleven of the league’s 14 football programs placed at least one player on the 2017 All-ACC Preseason Team.
Reigning Heisman Trophy winner Lamar Jackson of Louisville was chosen to repeat as ACC Player of the Year after a record-setting 2016 campaign in which he averaged 393.4 yards per game of total offense and accounted for 51 touchdowns, both ACC single-season records. His 1,571 rushing yards and 21 rushing touchdowns were also ACC records for a quarterback.
Jackson, a rising junior from Pompano Beach, Florida, who is the youngest player to win the Heisman Trophy, also was named the 2016 National College Football Player of the Year by the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp, the Sporting News and CBS Sports
Jackson’s 132 votes led all players. He was followed by returning 1,000-yard rusher Mark Walton of Miami with 127 and Florida State safety Derwin James with 126. NC State all-purpose standout Jaylen Samuels had 124 votes while Clemson offensive linemen Hyatt and Tyrone Crowder each received 123 votes.
Others topping the century mark included Florida State cornerback Tarvarus McFadden with 117 votes, Boston College defensive end Harold Landry with 111 and Clemson’s Wilkins and Lawrence tied at defensive tackle with 105 votes apiece. Louisville cornerback Jaire Alexander was named on 104 ballots, Clemson wide receiver Deon Cain on 103, and NC State defensive end Bradley Chubb received 101 votes.
Other members of the All-ACC Preseason Team include running back Dedrick Mills (Georgia Tech), wide receivers Ahmmon Richards (Miami) and Cam Phillips (Virginia Tech), tight end Cam Serigne (Wake Forest), offensive tackle Brian O’Neill (Pitt), offensive guard Wyatt Teller (Virginia Tech) and center Alec Eberle (Florida State).
Defensive selections include linebackers Micah Kiser (Virginia), Shaquille Quarterman (Miami) and Tremaine Edwards (Virginia Tech), as well as Virginia safety Quin Blanding (Virginia).
Placekicker Michael Badgley (Miami), punter A.J. Cole III (NC State) and kick returner Quadree Henderson (Pitt) round out the special teams corps.
2017 All-ACC Preseason Football Team
OffenseWR – Deon Cain, Jr., ClemsonWR – Ahmmon Richards, So., MiamiWR – Cam Phillips, Sr., Virginia TechTE – Cam Serigne, Sr.-r, Wake ForestAP – Jaylen Samuels, Sr., NC StateOT – Mitch Hyatt, Jr., Clemson OT – Brian O’Neill, Jr.-r, PittOG – Tyrone Crowder, Sr.-r, ClemsonOG – Wyatt Teller, Sr.-r, Virginia TechC – Alec Eberle, Jr.-r, Florida StateQB – Lamar Jackson, Jr., LouisvilleRB – Mark Walton, Jr., MiamiRB – Dedrick Mills, So., Georgia Tech
DefenseDE – Harold Landry, Sr., Boston CollegeDE – Bradley Chubb, Sr., NC State DT – Dexter Lawrence, So., ClemsonDT – Christian Wilkins, Jr., Clemson LB – Micah Kiser, Sr.-r, VirginiaLB – Shaquille Quarterman, So., MiamiLB – Tremaine Edmunds, Jr., Virginia TechCB – Tarvarus McFadden, Jr., Florida StateCB – Jaire Alexander, Jr., Louisville S – Derwin James, So.-r, Florida StateS – Quin Blanding, Sr., Virginia