By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Dr. Kemp Mabry
A day to celebrate Boy Scouts
Placeholder Image
    This is Boy Scout Week. Feb. 8th is the anniversary of the founding of Scouting in America. William D. Boyce, an American businessman, was helped by a boy in the London fog. The boy refused a tip for helping, explained that he was a Boy Scout. The Scout motto is “do a good turn daily.”
    William Boyce organized a Scout troop in Boston in 1910. Scouting came to the Coastal Empire and Statesboro soon afterward.
    Gordan Smith, a Savannah attorney, was a speaker at the annual meeting of the Bulloch County Historical Society recently, brought to Statesboro by society president, Rodney Harville, who served with Smith in the National Guard.
    Currently Smith is president of the Coastal Area Council, Boy Scouts of America, which includes Bulloch County. His speech was published in the quarterly newsletter of the historical society by Dr. Dan Good, editor. (Dr. Good has two sons who made Eagle Scout rank).
    The first achievement listed in President Gerald Ford’s tribute was “Eagle Scout.” Once an Eagle always an Eagle. Dr. Jack Proctor’s two sons are Eagle Scouts. l am proud to be an Eagle Scout.
    Gordon Smith lists the following Eagle Scouts for Bulloch County from 1943-1959: The first awardees included Richard Maner, Richard Mixon and Harry Warren of Troop 31 (1943); Herbert Jones of Troop 40 (1944); James B. Lott and Johnnie Lott of Troop 63 (1946); George Murkens of Troop 63 (1947); John Groover of Troop 40 and Gene Henderson of Troop 32 (1948); Smith Banks of Troop 40, Billy Bland of Troop 40, Jimmy Bland of Troop 32, Cliff Cannon, Glenn Jennings of Troop 40 and Jimmy Smith of Troop 40 (1950); Jerry Fletcher, William Russell and Steve Sewell of Troop 40 (1951); Charles N. Cason Jr. of Troop 40 (1953); Bennie Brown and Marshall Thigpen of Troop 40 (1956); Jimmy Brown, Hugh Wendell Burke, Johnny Ray, Jasper Edmond Smith Jr. and Gary Witte of Troop 340 (1958); Frank Parker of Troop 332 and Rufus F. Cone, Lindsey Johnston and Hubert Tankersley of Troop 340 (1959).
Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter