By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
GSU names president search committee
Group of 18 will interview candidates, make recommendations
Georgia Southern University interim president Shelley Clark Nickel.

The Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia has named the two committees required by Regents’ policy to conduct a national search for the next president of Georgia Southern University.

Dr. Jaimie Hebert announced his resignation as president in May and Shelly Nickel took over as interim president on July 1. Nickel left her previous job, as the University System of Georgia’s executive vice chancellor for strategy and fiscal affairs and treasurer for the Board of Regents, for as long as needed at Georgia Southern.

“Georgia Southern University needs a leader who understands the importance of working with students, faculty, staff and supporters as the institution grows its academic mission and footprint in southeast Georgia,” Chancellor Steve Wrigley said. “This is a pivotal moment for the Georgia Southern community, and I thank the committee members in advance for their time and dedication to this important effort. The work of the Presidential Search and Screen Committee will be crucial to finding the right person to lead the university.”

The search and screening of candidates is the responsibility of the 18-member, campus-based Presidential Search and Screen Committee.

Members of the Presidential Search and Screen Committee:

Dustin Anderson, Ph.D., associate professor of literature, College of Arts and Humanities; president, Faculty Senate; chair, Presidential Search and Screen Committee

Suzanne “Suzy” Carpenter, M.S., associate professor of chemistry, College of Science and Mathematics

Jimmy Childre Jr., president, Childre Ford Inc.

Jose de Arimateia da Cruz, Ph.D., professor of international relations and international studies, College of Behavioral and Social Sciences

Samantha Grovenstein-Deal, product line manager, CCH Firm Management and Growth Solutions, Wolters Kluwer Tax & Accounting North America

Spencer DeMink, executive vice president, Student Government Association

Luther “Trey” Denton, Ph.D., professor of marketing, College of Business

Mujibur Rahman Khan, Ph.D., associate professor of mechanical engineering, College of Engineering and Computing

Ann B. Hallock, DNP, assistant professor of nursing, Waters College of Health Professions

Dorothy Kempson, director, Liberty Campus

Douglas H. Lambert, president, SouthEastern Hospitality Services Inc.

J. Cliff McCurry, director of community development, Sterling Seacrest Partners

John “Jay” Neely III, vice president, Law and Public Affairs, Gulfstream Aerospace Corporation

Brenda Richardson, chair, Staff Council

Chris Riley, chief of staff, Office of the Governor

Jarvis Steele, president, Student Government Association

Isabel Thomas, graduate student, College of Public Health

Meca R. Williams-Johnson, Ph.D., professor of educational research, College of Education

The duties of the committee include the development of a position description, recruiting candidates and conducting interviews. The search firm of Witt/Kieffer has been engaged to assist the search committee.

The charge to the Presidential Search and Screen Committee will take place on Aug. 29 at Georgia Southern. At the conclusion of its work, the campus committee will forward the credentials of three to five unranked candidates to the Regents’ Special Committee for consideration.

The Regents’ Special Committee will be chaired by Regent Laura Marsh, and includes Regents Chris Cummiskey, Bárbara Rivera Holmes, James M. Hull, E. Scott Smith, Ben J. Tarbutton III, and Don L. Waters.

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter