By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Eagles sweep SoCon's top two honors
Murray MUG
Matt Murray - photo by Georgia Southern AMR

2011 SoCon Baseball All-Conference Team
Player of the Year — Victor Roache, So., OF, Georgia Southern
Pitcher of the Year — Matt Murray, Jr., RHP, Georgia Southern
Freshman of the Year — Daniel Aldrich, OF, Charleston
Coach of the Year — Mike Gaski, UNCG
First Team
SP     Josh Renfro, College of Charleston
SP     Andy Moye, Georgia Southern
SP     Warren Slack, UNCG
RP     Matt Murray, Georgia Southern
C       Trevor Edwards, UNCG
1B     Saxon Butler, Samford
2B     Ross Heffley, Western Carolina
SS     Eric Phillips, Georgia Southern
3B     Matt Leeds, College of Charleston
OF     Daniel Aldrich, College of Charleston
OF     Nick Orvin, The Citadel
OF     Victor Roache, Georgia Southern
DH    Stephen Notaro, Western Carolina
Second Team
SP     Christian Powell, College of Charleston
SP     Kyle Putkonen, Samford
RP     Andrew Jones, Samford
C      Rob Kral, College of Charleston
1B     Aaron Thompkins, Furman
2B     Sebastian Gomez, Elon
SS     Neal Pritchard, Elon
3B     Austin Schultz, Western Carolina
OF    Shawn Payne, Georgia Southern
OF     Phillip Ervin, Samford
OF     Brandon Miller, Samford
DH    Mac Doyle, Wofford
All-Freshman Team
Preston Troutman, Appalachian State; Daniel Aldrich, College of Charleston; Drew DeKerlegand, The Citadel; Joe Jackson, The Citadel; Forrest Brandt, Davidson; Sebastian Gomez, Elon; David Whitehead, Elon; Brandon Browne, UNCG; Phillip Ervin, Samford; C.K. Irby, Samford; Aaron Attaway, Western Carolina; Adam Martin, Western Carolina