By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Help us recognize Bullochs young leaders
Deadline for nominations Friday, March 23
W 20under40 logoColor

To nominate someone for the 2015 20 Under 40, click here.

Statesboro Herald 20 Under 40 previous winners


Betsy Blair
Brandon Blair
Phil Boyum
Kim Brannen
Will Britt
Jodi Caldwell
Sharri Edenfield
Rachel Edwards
Ashley Ellis
Ryan Foley
Shane Haynes
Angie Hitchens
Bubba Hunt
Ray McKinney
Stewart Moody
Laura Moore
Wesley Parker
Katie Stringer
Amy Taulbee
Jill Vickery
Jarrett Walden


Dustin Barr
Travis Chance
Alvie Coes
Dr. Ruthie Crider
Brad David
Cindi Hart
Maurice Hill
Per Holtze
Brian Hulsey
Daphne Jarriel
Russell Keen
Brant Lane
Michelle Lank
Jonathan McCollar
Bobby Michael
Andres Montes
Kyle NeSmith
Theresa Novotny
Kay Proctor
Chad Wiggins


Lance Turner
Nick Propps
Clint Nessmith
Jenae Lynn
Corliss Reese
Sara Smith
Mark Spandle
Jeff Grant
Jaclyn Cason
James "Bubba" Revell
Jim Grindler
Mike Lindamood
Ramona Lawrence
Shane Geurin
Jason Lanier
Jeremy Ragan
Brian Kent
Ben Ross
Lea Lanier
Brian Deloach


Christina Babb
Tina Banks
Caroline Bowman
Joseph Cushner
Mandy Edwards
Tim Grams
Christy Hulsey
Francys Johnson
Benji Lewis
Jennifer Mock
Hayley Moore
Lisa Peavy
Brian Reiss
Heath Robinson
Dr. Lisa Robinson
Jason Scarborough
Dr. Bryant Smalley
Christy Strickland
Abby Walden
Dr. Austin Whitlock


Robin Aspinwall
Alana Avret
Dr. Aaron Clark
Mandi Cody
Jemelleh Coes
Leslie Cushner
DeAnna Davis
Kevin Harrison
Kim Kaiser
Christina Larson
Stephen Maenpaa
Christy Marsh
Bob Mikell
Chris Mitchell
Dr. Eli Penn
Adrien Spandle
April Stafford
Valerie Thompson
Matthew Wise
Jeff Wohelski
Chris Yaughn


        In 2010, the Statesboro Herald conducted its first ever search to identify 20 Bulloch County residents under the age of 40 who are making a mark with professional success and community involvement. Since then, the Herald has recognized 101 folks under 40 who help make Statesboro and Bulloch County a better place to live.
        The nominations for this year's list will come from the community. All nominees must be under 40 years of age as of Jan. 1, 2016. Deadline for nominations is Friday, March 23. You will find a nominating form in today's edition of the Statesboro Herald on page 8, and it has been printed periodically. Forms also are available at the Herald office and online at The 20 Under 40 section will publish on Tuesday, April 28.
        For those of you who follow the statewide news scene, you know that Georgia Trend magazine recognizes 40 individuals under 40 years of age who are making an impact around the state. Many of those who made that list in the past later reached the magazine's coveted 100 Most Influential Georgians list.
        As a growing and thriving community, we need to groom leaders for the future in a variety of fields — business, education, law, medical, philanthropic and civic — and recognize those emerging leaders along the way.
        From the Deen Day Smith Service to Mankind Award recipients to Chamber of Commerce honorees and Kiwanian and Rotarians of the year, we are blessed to have among us those who have given years and, in some cases, decades of service to this community.
        All of the people who have been honored by the organizations that I mentioned above began at some point in their careers or personal life to be successful, to be a contributor, to be a leader.   
        I really encourage you to participate by letting us know about those who are making a difference. Hopefully, one day, some of these same individuals will be identified as one of the most influential Georgians for what they have done right here in Bulloch County.
        Jim Healy is operations manager for the Statesboro Herald. He may be reached at (912) 489-9402 or by email at

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter