By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Excelsior EMC holds Annual Meeting at GSU
Excelsior Emc

A crowd of approximately 300 gathered at the Nessmith-Lane Conference Center on the campus of Georgia Southern University last Friday, for Excelsior EMC’s 81st Annual Meeting.

For those members arriving early, “Early Bird” door prizes were awarded to lucky winners. All registered members received an LED retractable lantern as an attendance gift. Promptly at 2:30 p.m., Steve Minor, cooperative attorney, called the business session to order.

After the invocation by Director Billy Hickman, National Anthem, and approval of the minutes of the last meeting, seven employees were recognized with a service award for a combined total of 175 years of service to the Cooperative.  Receiving service awards were:  Nelsan Hobbs, 15 years; Jody Wilson, 15 years; Jim O’Brien, 25 years; Matt Smith, 25 years; Jessie Goodman, 30 years; Chris Howell, 30 years; and Bobby Edenfield, 35 years.

Following the presentation of employee service awards, Greg Proctor gave the President/CEO’s Report.

In his report, Proctor opened by pointing out how the Cooperative seeks to balance the need for affordable rates with reliability and exceptional customer service. He noted that Excelsior EMC remains among the lowest cost providers in the state when compared to Georgia Power and 40 other EMCs. Proctor pointed out that Excelsior EMC was the lowest cost provider in the state at the 1,500 and 2,000 kWh per month level last summer. 

Additionally, he said that “Not only are we committed to balancing low rates and reliable service, delivering exceptional customer service is a high priority as well.” 

He listed and described several of the new services available to Excelsior EMC members such as the “Pay Your Way” pre-pay billing service, the Excelsior EMC smartphone app, the Alerts and Reminders system, and the new energy efficient LED outdoor lights. 

Proctor expressed his gratitude to the entire Excelsior EMC team for their hard work during the Hurricane Michael restoration effort. Proctor went on to say that the Cooperative continued to grow in 2018 with the addition of 232 consumers and 30 miles of line.

Three directors were elected to serve three-year terms.  These were: Jordy Carter, District 7; Billy Hickman, District 8; and Wade C. Hodges, District 9.

Sign up for the Herald's free e-newsletter