Note: The following is part of a series of columns looking at the founding and general history of southeast Georgia and Bulloch County.
The little town called Fido, of all things, was located a few hundred yards from the Canoochee River just to the north of Moore's Bridge along the Seaboard Air Line Railroad.
The post office here opened in J.G. Moore’s store and was named after Mrs. James G. Williams’ feisty dog, Fido. J.G. Moore was both store owner and the town of Fido's only postmaster. It closed in 1899, to be replaced by the Euphaupee Post Office.
Fish Trap, however, came into being on Dec. 12, 1889, when a deed was recorded in the Bulloch County Courthouse that stated Bedford Everett and Deacon Howard Kirkland of the Mount Pisgah Primitive Baptist Church had negotiated the sale of 2 acres for $4 between Everett’s land and the mouth of the Great Lott’s Creek.
Bedford Everett immediately built an indian-style “Fish Trap” in which he caught fish that he sold to area residents. The church here became known shortly thereafter as “Fish Trap,” as did the bridge, the school, and the road.
Believe it or not, there was even a town in Bulloch County which was named Fly. Located halfway between the villages of Clito and Laston, all that is known about Fly is that according to the book written by Small, the post office moved several times. Fly’s final resting place was across the road from Richard Burns' house. The residents wanted to name the town Troy, but that name was summarily rejected by the postmaster general. The postmasters were Martin A. Woodcock and Madison P. Marsh.
This community of Gem was located halfway between the towns of Clark and Zoar. All that is known about Gem is that according to the book written by Small, the post office was open from 1888-1904 and that the postmasters here included Henry C. Carr, David B. Rigdon and William F. Womack.
Likewise, little is known about the settlement of Geranium except that it was located to the southwest of Nevils, and was lost to Evans County when it was created.
Glisson, a railroad town on the Cuyler and Woodburn Railroad line, lay situated between the stops of Ivanhoe and Eldora. When the C&W became known as the Savannah and Statesboro Railway, Glisson was removed from its list of scheduled stops. This community was most likely named after the descendants of Joseph Glisson, who lived in Briar Patch.
Roger Allen is a local lover of history. Allen provides a brief look each week at the area's past. E-mail Roger at firstname.lastname@example.org.