View Mobile Site

Related Articles

Friends to Follow

Statesboro's Tyson gets All-American nod

Text Size: Small Large Medium
    NEW YORK — Deangelo Tyson, a 6-foot-2, 305-pound lineman from Statesboro High School, Omar Hunter, a 6-foot-1, 310-pound lineman from Buford High School in Buford and A.J. Harmon, a 6-foot-6, 335-pound lineman from Jefferson County High School in Louisville, have been named to PARADE’s 45th annual All-America High School Football Team.
    The athletes are among 58 players from 24 states to make the team, which will be listed in this Sunday’s issue.
    Founded in 1963, PARADE’s All-America High School Football Team has a legacy of recognizing outstanding athletes who have gone on to star on college and professional football fields.
    Thirteen PARADE All-Americans have won the Heisman Trophy: Tim Tebow, Reggie Bush, Matt Leinart, Eric Crouch, Chris Weinke, Ron Dayne, Herschel Walker, Charles Woodson, Rashaan Salaam, Marcus Allen, Billy Sims, Earl Campbell and Tony Dorsett.
    The 2007-2008 NFL boasts 156 PARADE All-Americans, including Peyton Manning, Vince Young and Adrian Peterson, to name just a few.  Other recognizable PARADE All-Americans include Emmitt Smith, Dan Marino, Joe Montana, John Elway, Donovan McNabb and Earl Campbell.
    Before vying for Super Bowl stardom this Sunday, the following Giants and Patriots players were named PARADE All-Americans. From New England: Kyle Brady, Kevin Faulk, Randy Moss and Junior Seau. From New York: Plaxico Burress, Michael Johnson and R.W. McQuarters.
  • Bookmark and Share

SUBSCRIBE to the Statesboro Herald print edition or online e-Edition and get EXCLUSIVE news and information online with complete access to all complete stories on Now you'll have Soundoff, Local Birth Announcements and columnists like Jan Moore, Phil Boyum, Roger Allen, John Bressler and Holli Bragg. Also, Letters to the Editor, Local Editorials and many new exclusive items will all be there just for you! And, when you're away from home, you can read the paper page by page anywhere, anytime from your computer with your subscription.



Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...