View Mobile Site

Ogeechee Tech a finalist for state award

Savannah Tech named Technical College of the Year

Ogeechee Tech a finalist for state award

Ogeechee Tech a finalist for state award

Dr. Dawn Cartee, the president of Oge...

Ogeechee Technical College was a finalist for the Technical College System of Georgia’s Perdue Award, given to the system’s Technical College of the Year.

Savannah Technical College received the award during the Technical College System State Board’s monthly meeting in Atlanta. Dr. Lynn Cornett, the chairwoman of the board, presented the award to Kathy Love, the president of Savannah Tech.

Also recognized as finalists, besides Ogeechee Tech, were Augusta Technical College, Columbus Technical College and Gwinnett Technical College

Previous winners were Atlanta Technical College (2012), Ogeechee Tech (2011) and Wiregrass Georgia Technical College (2010).

“It is an honor to be a finalist, especially so soon after being the winner of this award,” said Dr. Dawn Cartee, the president of Ogeechee Tech. “Meeting the criteria necessary to be a finalist is validation of the hard work everyone at Ogeechee Tech does daily to serve the students and the communities of this region.”

Technical College System Commissioner Ron Jackson said: “I want to congratulate President Cartee and the faculty, staff and students of Ogeechee Technical College on their well-deserved honor for being a finalist for the 2013 Perdue Award for the TCSG College of the Year. The members of the State Board of the TCSG have great respect for Ogeechee Tech, and they thank everyone at the college for their outstanding dedication to the success of their students.”

Each year, the Technical College System board evaluates the state technical colleges for the Perdue Award using almost two dozen performance categories, including enrollment in technical and adult education programs, student retention and graduation rates, licensure pass rates, economic development measures, national awards and administrative efficiencies.

The award is named in honor of former Gov. Sonny Perdue, who was a strong supporter of Georgia’s technical colleges and their mission to develop the state’s workforce through world-class technical and adult education programs.

Interested in viewing premium content?

A subscription is required before viewing this article and other premium content.

Already a registered member and have a subscription?

If you have already purchased a subscription, please log in to view the full article.

Are you registered, but do not have a subscription?

If you are a registed user and would like to purchase a subscription, log in to view a list of available subscriptions.

Interested in becoming a registered member and purchasing a subscription?

Join our community today by registering for a FREE account. Once you have registered for a FREE account, click SUBSCRIBE NOW to purchase access to premium content.

Membership Benefits

  • Instant access to creating Blogs, Photo Albums, and Event listings.
  • Email alerts with the latest news.
  • Access to commenting on articles.

Please wait ...