View Mobile Site

Rusty Wallace heads group of 5 hall of fame inductees

Rusty Wallace heads group of 5 hall of fame inductees

Rusty Wallace heads group of 5 hall of fame inductees

    CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Sprint Cup champion Rusty Wallace heads the group of five picked for the NASCAR Hall of Fame on Wednesday.
    Owner Leonard Wood and drivers Cotton Owens, Herb Thomas and Buck Baker joined Wallace in the hall's fourth class.
    Baker was tied with Fireball Roberts for the fifth spot after voting, so a second vote was held to determine the final position. NASCAR Chairman Brian France said it was the first time since the hall began that the panel had to break a tie.
    Wallace, who was picked his first time as a finalist, won 55 Sprint Cup races in 706 starts and won the 1989 championship. He now works as a broadcaster.
    The five men will be inducted in ceremonies at the NASCAR Hall of Fame in February.
    Wallace said his first clue he might've become a Hall of Famer was when he was ushered to the front row moments before the ceremony. "I'm always one who's late to the party," he joked.
    When Wallace's name came up, he was hugged by son Greg and one of his old crew chiefs, Robin Pemberton. Wallace is ninth on the Sprint Cup wins list and was a short-track master with 25 of his victories coming at Bristol, Martinsville, North Wilkesboro and Richmond.
    "I'm just humbled, I really am," he said.
    Wood joins his brother, Glen, who was picked for the hall last year. The Wood Brothers team was credited as pioneers of the modern pit stop. Leonard, alongside Glen and Delano Wood, was the team's chief mechanic. Leonard Wood won 96 races and 117 poles in 900 races as a crew chief.
    Owens had success as a driver and owner in NASCAR. He won nine races in NASCAR's premier series and finished second for the 1959 championship to Hall of Famer Lee Petty. Owens later hired Hall of Fame drivers in Junior Johnson and David Pearson, winning 38 times as an owner.
    Thomas, who died in 2000, is considered one of NASCAR's first superstars by winning championships in 1951 and 1953 and finishing second in 1952 and 1954.
    Buck Baker became the first NASCAR driver to win consecutive championships in 1956 and 1957. He's 14th on the career list with 46 wins. Baker died in 2002.
    The five came from a pool of 25 nominees.

Interested in viewing premium content?

A subscription is required before viewing this article and other premium content.

Already a registered member and have a subscription?

If you have already purchased a subscription, please log in to view the full article.

Are you registered, but do not have a subscription?

If you are a registed user and would like to purchase a subscription, log in to view a list of available subscriptions.

Interested in becoming a registered member and purchasing a subscription?

Join our community today by registering for a FREE account. Once you have registered for a FREE account, click SUBSCRIBE NOW to purchase access to premium content.

Membership Benefits

  • Instant access to creating Blogs, Photo Albums, and Event listings.
  • Email alerts with the latest news.
  • Access to commenting on articles.

Please wait ...