View Mobile Site

GSU’s Paulson College names eight to its advisory board

Science and Technology group helps get school’s message out

    The Allen E. Paulson College of Science and Technology (COST) at Georgia Southern University has named eight new members to its advisory board.

The Science and Technology Advisory Board’s mission is to enhance the relationship between COST and its constituent communities, which include business, industry, and government and non-government organizations.

The new members of the board are: Jeff Boyd, director, Curtis and Elizabeth Anderson Cancer Institute, and vice president for research and laboratory science, Memorial Health University Medical Center; Jimmy Christopher, site manager, process technologies, BASF The Chemical Company; Stephen Gay, pharmacist, The Prescription Shop; Jerry Grissom, plant manager, Georgia Power Plant Kraft; Charles S. Marra, vice president, Ashmore Concrete Contractors Inc.; Bob Randall, vice president of operations, Viracon; Steve Soltis, director of leadership communications, the Coca-Cola Company; and Rob Wolz, director of preliminary design, Gulfstream Aerospace.

COST includes the departments of biology; chemistry; construction management and civil engineering technology; geology and geography; mathematical sciences; mechanical engineering and electrical engineering technology; military science; and physics.

The Science and Technology Advisory Board’s primary role is to provide advice, expertise and support to the COST dean and faculty on internal and external matters in order to help the college fulfill its mission and meet the changing needs of the state.

Albert A. Vierheilig of Intercat Inc. and COST Interim Dean Bret S. Danilowicz serve as co-chairs of the board. COST Associate Dean Shahnam Navaee is the board secretary.

The board also includes: Dr. James Becton, Augusta Orthopedic Clinic; Hugh Darley, president and executive director, IDEA Inc; V. Jim Henry, retired, former director of Georgia Southern University Applied Coastal Research Laboratory; Diane M. Lewis, founder and president, Georgia nanoFAB; Howard Morrison, Lebanon Ventures; Howard Stryker, retired, former director of advanced commercial programs, Pratt and Whitney Division, United Technologies Corporation; and Thomas Troutman, executive vice president, New South Construction Inc.

            For more information on COST, visit or call (912) 681-5111.

Interested in viewing premium content?

A subscription is required before viewing this article and other premium content.

Already a registered member and have a subscription?

If you have already purchased a subscription, please log in to view the full article.

Are you registered, but do not have a subscription?

If you are a registed user and would like to purchase a subscription, log in to view a list of available subscriptions.

Interested in becoming a registered member and purchasing a subscription?

Join our community today by registering for a FREE account. Once you have registered for a FREE account, click SUBSCRIBE NOW to purchase access to premium content.

Membership Benefits

  • Instant access to creating Blogs, Photo Albums, and Event listings.
  • Email alerts with the latest news.
  • Access to commenting on articles.

Please wait ...