View Mobile Site

Related Articles

  • There are no articles found.

Friends to Follow

GSU’s Paulson College names eight to its advisory board

Science and Technology group helps get school’s message out

Text Size: Small Large Medium

    The Allen E. Paulson College of Science and Technology (COST) at Georgia Southern University has named eight new members to its advisory board.

The Science and Technology Advisory Board’s mission is to enhance the relationship between COST and its constituent communities, which include business, industry, and government and non-government organizations.

The new members of the board are: Jeff Boyd, director, Curtis and Elizabeth Anderson Cancer Institute, and vice president for research and laboratory science, Memorial Health University Medical Center; Jimmy Christopher, site manager, process technologies, BASF The Chemical Company; Stephen Gay, pharmacist, The Prescription Shop; Jerry Grissom, plant manager, Georgia Power Plant Kraft; Charles S. Marra, vice president, Ashmore Concrete Contractors Inc.; Bob Randall, vice president of operations, Viracon; Steve Soltis, director of leadership communications, the Coca-Cola Company; and Rob Wolz, director of preliminary design, Gulfstream Aerospace.

COST includes the departments of biology; chemistry; construction management and civil engineering technology; geology and geography; mathematical sciences; mechanical engineering and electrical engineering technology; military science; and physics.

The Science and Technology Advisory Board’s primary role is to provide advice, expertise and support to the COST dean and faculty on internal and external matters in order to help the college fulfill its mission and meet the changing needs of the state.

Albert A. Vierheilig of Intercat Inc. and COST Interim Dean Bret S. Danilowicz serve as co-chairs of the board. COST Associate Dean Shahnam Navaee is the board secretary.

The board also includes: Dr. James Becton, Augusta Orthopedic Clinic; Hugh Darley, president and executive director, IDEA Inc; V. Jim Henry, retired, former director of Georgia Southern University Applied Coastal Research Laboratory; Diane M. Lewis, founder and president, Georgia nanoFAB; Howard Morrison, Lebanon Ventures; Howard Stryker, retired, former director of advanced commercial programs, Pratt and Whitney Division, United Technologies Corporation; and Thomas Troutman, executive vice president, New South Construction Inc.

            For more information on COST, visit or call (912) 681-5111.

  • Bookmark and Share

SUBSCRIBE to the Statesboro Herald print edition or online e-Edition and get EXCLUSIVE news and information online with complete access to all complete stories on Now you'll have Soundoff, Local Birth Announcements and columnists like Jan Moore, Phil Boyum, Roger Allen, John Bressler and Holli Bragg. Also, Letters to the Editor, Local Editorials and many new exclusive items will all be there just for you! And, when you're away from home, you can read the paper page by page anywhere, anytime from your computer with your subscription.



Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...