View Mobile Site

Related Articles

  • There are no articles found.

Friends to Follow

Moses, Eachus lead AP's FCS All-America team

Text Size: Small Large Medium

NEW YORK — Stephen. F. Austin quarterback Jeremy Moses capped his record-breaking career with an All-American season.

The senior, who leads the nation in yards passing (3,998) and touchdown passes (34), was selected to The Associated Press FCS All-American team, along with running backs Nate Eachus of Colgate and Taiwan Jones of Eastern Washington.

Moses led the Lumberjacks to a Southland Conference title and a spot in the FCS playoffs, setting conference records for career yards passing and total offense. He's a finalist for the Walter Payton Award, which goes to the top player in what used to be known as Division I-AA.

His teammate, receiver Gralyn Crawford, made the All-America team as an all-purpose player.

Jones, second in the nation in rushing, and linebacker J.C. Sherritt gave Eastern Washington two All-Americans. The Eagles play defending national champion Villanova in the semfinals Friday night.

Offensive tackle Ben Ijalana, a 320-pound NFL prospect, was Villanova's lone first-teamer.

Appalachian State, with defensive end Jabari Fletcher and safety Mark Legree, and Montana State, with offensive tackle Mike Person and kicker Jason Cunningham, also placed two players on the All-America team.

Appalachian State quarterback Deandre Presley, also a finalist for the Payton Award, was selected to the second team.

The third-team quarterback was Pat Devlin of Delaware. The Penn State transfer has led the Blue Hens to the semifinals, where they'll face Georgia Southern on Saturday.

Georgia Southern placed defensive tackle Brent Russell on the first team.

Eachus led the nation in rushing at 170 yards per game, including 147 yards on 35 carries against Syracuse, and scored 21 touchdowns.

The receivers were Arkansas-Pine Bluff's Raymond Webber, who leads the country in yards receiving with 1,429, and Southern Utah's Tysson Poots. Shadrae King of Robert Morris was the tight end.

Joining Ijalana and Person on the offensive line were Curt Porter of Jacksonville State, David Arkin of Missouri State and Will Rackley of Lehigh.

The other defensive linemen were Kenrick Ellis of Hampton and Martin Parker of Richmond, both finalists for the Buck Buchanan Award, which goes to the best defensive player in the FCS.

Western Illinois' Kyle Glazier, the Missouri Valley Conference defensive player of the year, and Tyler Holmes of Massachusetts, the co-defensive player of the year in the Colonial Athletic Association, were first-team linebackers along with Sherritt.

Trumaine Johnson of Montana, Korey Lindsey of Southern Illinois and Eugene Clifford of Tennessee State round out secondary.

David Harrington of Idaho State was the punter.

  • Bookmark and Share

SUBSCRIBE to the Statesboro Herald print edition or online e-Edition and get EXCLUSIVE news and information online with complete access to all complete stories on Now you'll have Soundoff, Local Birth Announcements and columnists like Jan Moore, Phil Boyum, Roger Allen, John Bressler and Holli Bragg. Also, Letters to the Editor, Local Editorials and many new exclusive items will all be there just for you! And, when you're away from home, you can read the paper page by page anywhere, anytime from your computer with your subscription.



Commenting is not available.

Commenting not available.

Please wait ...