View Mobile Site

Six area players make top team in Region 3-A

    Six players from the Herald coverage area were recently named to the All Region 3-A first team. The group, as voted by coaches from the region, was otherwise dominated by ECI and Savannah Country Day.
    Portal High School led the area with three first-team honorees. Wide receiver Fred Williams was the only Panther to earn top honors on the offensive side of the ball. Teammates Ryan Williams (defensive end) and Tagg Lanier (defensive back) got the nod on the defensive side.
    “I was very proud of all of our players that were selected to be on the all region team,” said Portal coach Justin Chester. “They deserve it. ... All of these guys worked hard in the offseason and do all the little things right.”
    The Panthers finished the year at 4-7, falling in the first round of the playoffs to Johnson County, 34-6.
    Claxton had two offensive players earn first-team honors. Running back Delvin Diggs was joined by offensive lineman Michael Davalos on the top unit. They represented a team that finished 2-7-1.
    “I feel like both kids were very deserving,” said Claxton coach Allen Cartwright of Diggs and Davalos. “Diggs’ numbers speak for themselves, but as good a football player as he is, he’s an even better person.”
    Cartwright said Davalos had 36 pancake blocks this season, and many of Diggs’ yards came on plays that followed the big left tackle.    
    Kenneth Scott was the first-team honoree from a Jenkins County team that finished 1-9.
    Jenkins County coach Chuck Conley could not be reached for comment Saturday.
    ECI led all schools with six first-team selections on offense and three on defense. Savannah Country Day had five players make first team on offense, two on special teams and two on defense.
    The Region 3-A offensive player of the year award went to ECI running back Marvin Hughes. Teammate and linebacker Keif Robinson was named the region's top defensive player, while Bryan County's Alkeem Collins earned special teams player of the year.
    Nine players from the area earned second-team honors. On offense, Jenkins running back Patrick Moody was recognized, as were offensive linemen Justin Stewart (Claxton), Brett Jenkins (Jenkins County) and Brigham Hodges (Portal).
    Members of the second-team defense included Portal linebackers Travis Budgett and Justin Akins, Jenkins defensive lineman Keonte Gross, and Claxton defensive back Felles Grant.
    Jenkins County's Caleb Chance was named second-team kicker.
    For a full listing of Region 3-A selections, please see the Et Cetera in Sunday's edition of the Herald.

Interested in viewing premium content?

A subscription is required before viewing this article and other premium content.

Already a registered member and have a subscription?

If you have already purchased a subscription, please log in to view the full article.

Are you registered, but do not have a subscription?

If you are a registed user and would like to purchase a subscription, log in to view a list of available subscriptions.

Interested in becoming a registered member and purchasing a subscription?

Join our community today by registering for a FREE account. Once you have registered for a FREE account, click SUBSCRIBE NOW to purchase access to premium content.

Membership Benefits

  • Instant access to creating Blogs, Photo Albums, and Event listings.
  • Email alerts with the latest news.
  • Access to commenting on articles.

Please wait ...